TIME and EFFORT

20130708-181800.jpg
I was recently asked by a friend to meet with her the other night to listen to this famous guys testamony or story. He was a former singer in a band called, “Newsboys.” So I told my friend I would meet her.
The day came when I was at home waiting on my sister to come home from work, to relieve me of my duty of taking care of our grandmother. My sister had to work till 6 p.m. and that was the time I was suppose to meet my friend. My sister did not get home till 7 p.m. and therefore, I was going to be an hour late! I thought about it and thought,” is it really worth the time and effort to go when I was going to be SO late!!” But I went anyway since I had made a promise to show up.
When I arrived at the place, I sat in the closest seat I could find (as not to draw attention to how late I was.) I started looking for my friend, which was sitting in the front of the room. I thought, ” I will just sit here and listen.”
The guy that was talking on stage had an Australian accent. He said his name was John James and he said that, he wanted to make a difference. He told a story in which, he was at a youth event. He was walking into a room and he noticed two girls sitting next to each other and they were crying! They were both looking down at something and crying!! He started going over to the girls and wanted to see what they were looking at…. He peeked over their shoulders and at that point, the girl saw him looking at her. She tried to pull her sleeve down over her arm, but it was too late.
He said that it grabbed at his heart and he just started crying! What made him cry was one of the girls had cuts all over her arm. The cause of all the cuts and scars on her arm was, because she had done this to herself!! He said, “what sort of pain was she in, to do this to herself?”
He said it grabbed at his heart because he is a father! He can not imagine his child ever doing something like that to herself!! Then he said, “How much more does it break Gods heart to see stuff like this?” He said that, ” God is asking us to be his voice, his hands, his feet and to go into the communities to reach others!” He said that, ” there is someone out there that you know and they don’t want to know how much you know, but how much you care!!”
John James message really touched my heart and made me realize the importance of showing others, that we care(no matter who they are!)

3 thoughts on “TIME and EFFORT

  1. For as the body is one, and hath many members, and all the members of that one body, being many, are one body: so also [is] Christ. 13 For by one Spirit are we all baptized into one body, whether [we be] Jews or Gentiles, whether [we be] bond or free; and have been all made to drink into one Spirit. 14 For the body is not one member, but many. 15 If the foot shall say, Because I am not the hand, I am not of the body; is it therefore not of the body? 16 And if the ear shall say, Because I am not the eye, I am not of the body; is it therefore not of the body? 17 If the whole body [were] an eye, where [were] the hearing? If the whole [were] hearing, where [were] the smelling? 18 But now hath God set the For as the body is one, and hath many members, and all the members of that one body, being many, are one body: so also [is] Christ. 13 For by one Spirit are we all baptized into one body, whether [we be] Jews or Gentiles, whether [we be] bond or free; and have been all made to drink into one Spirit. 14 For the body is not one member, but many. 15 If the foot shall say, Because I am not the hand, I am not of the body; is it therefore not of the body? 16 And if the ear shall say, Because I am not the eye, I am not of the body; is it therefore not of the body? 17 If the whole body [were] an eye, where [were] the hearing? If the whole [were] hearing, where [were] the smelling? 18 But now hath God set the members every one of them in the body, as it hath pleased him. 1 Corinthians 12:12-18

  2. Stephanei Thomopoulos says:

    This is great. I was really moved too. I keep thinking about the things he said all night and day still. I want to be part of a ministry at our church that goes into high schools. It’s al so heartbreaking. Prayerfully someday we’ll be able to do that.

Leave a comment